The Reading Nook | Three: Books I’ll (probably) Never Read

I spied this tag going around booktube after watching Ariel’s video of the tag created by this lovely lady (go check them out) and thought I’d have a whirl at the same thing here on the blog. Let’s get to it.

What’s a really hyped book you’re not interested in reading?

Lady Midnight - Cassandra Clare

City_of_Bones

 

Lady Midnight and all that follows. I had a go at City of Bones, hated it and never want to read anything by Cassandra Clare again. More power to you if you love her stuff, but for me it could all have been so so so much better!

 

 

What’s a series you won’t start/be finishing?

Divergent Series

Divergent by Veronica Roth. The first movie was OK, but it wasn’t enough to make me run for the books. While writing this, I discovered there is a fourth book in what has now gone from being a trilogy to a collection.

Still not interested!

 

What’s a classic that you’re just not interested in?

The Catcher in the Rye

wuthering heights
This cover is gorgeous though!
I have to put two in here, I just couldn’t choose between them! J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye and (even more controversially) the Bronte classic, Wuthering Heights. I have tried to read both of these and hated them both. I just don’t like the characters. They’re horrible and nasty and have nothing to recommend them to me thanks to their “woe-is-me” moping. A friend recommended John Niven’s Kill Your Friends to me, and this is a book I got on board with is because no matter how awful the protagonist is, he is unapologetic and owns it. Now that made for a compelling read!

Kill your friends

 

Are there any genres you never read?

I will generally steer clear from the more psychological, horror books. It’s not that I never read them, it’s just that they’re not on my go-to list. One that springs to mind is Stephen King’s IT. Just not my bag!

Stephen King IT
I may not like horror books so much, but I do really appreciate this cover!

Is there a book on your shelves you’ll never actually read?

I can’t think of anything off the top of my head – they’re all there for a reason and I get round to them eventually. I had Anne of Green Gables sitting on my shelf for years (years) before I finally picked it up and read it, so all books have their time!

Anne of Green Gables

 

So there’s my list! Do you agree or disagree? What are some books that you will simply never, ever read? Leave a comment and tell me more!

 

Leave a Reply

