ESL | The Open Class

WORKING in a public school in Korea means that once a year, in the run up to your contract renewal, you will face your open class. I’ve done 4 now, 3 of my own and 1 with my Co-Teacher at the time.

I quite enjoy open classes, and in this post I’m going to share with you the materials for my most recent one. You will notice that the lesson plan is missing. Having had multiple Co-Teachers and attended multiple open classes myself, I have noticed that the style and layout of the lesson plan is as individual as the teacher, so there’s no point including it here!

MY lesson this year was the final part of Lesson 5 in Cheonjae (2) 6th Grade English book, What Does He Look Like? After some um-ing and ah-ing and a couple of false starts later, I settled on Where’s Wally (or Waldo, if you must) and Guess Who? as the two tools to facilitate this class.\

FIRST things first, the PPT. This PPT: Open Class 2017 – G6 L6.6 – Review

Open Class PPT Screenshot 1

Open Class PPT Screenshot 2
It’s not a real open class if my own hand-drawn characters aren’t involved! A little bit bummed I lost the originals in the great USB Gate of 2017, but these newbs are all backed up and looked after!

Open Class PPT Screenshot 3

I pile everything into one PPT for my open classes. I don’t like to be jumping between things. Im previous open classes I have taken screenshots of the books accompanying CD-ROM. The book is always, always the foundation of my classes, even if it doesn’t feature in this one itself!

THE general order of play for the class was:

Greeting > Revision > Story Time & Worksheet > Game Time

THE revision, as you can see from the above PPT slides, focused on vocabulary. I used all the vocab in the text book and then supplemented it with some more. The students had already been introduced to this and we whizzed through it pretty quickly.

Then came the worksheet. They were given three individuals from the Where’s Wally picture to describe (you can see more on the worksheet). Every match they made to the descriptions in the story (one match for every “feature”) earned them a point, with a total of 9 available.

img_5323

img_5322

We then moved on to a game of guess who using the Disney characters, to mix it up and make it more interesting for them!

img_5324

Divided into groups, one person at a time drew a card and described the character to their group, saying three things before the group could guess the identity. The aim was to fill up the board.

img_5325

This was what we were going for:

img_5326

It was a successful open class, the students enjoyed themselves and demonstrated what they know and they managed it without a single word of Korean – not always the easiest in Korea as those who teach here will agree, and a testimony to the rest of the English teachers in my school, who are fabulous (I mean, I’m totally biased, but I love them!)

Leave a Reply

